IgorShare Thoughts and Ideas

Consulting and Training

Archive for December 26th, 2010

Can TFS be useful if the sources are in Subversion (SVN)? Or how to run integration and nightly builds on TFS from SVN?

Posted by Igor Moochnick on 12/26/2010

This is the question that I’ve been asked multiple times during my Microsoft ALM tools presentations and trainings. So I’ve decided to post a series of articles that will show the path that we had to walk to teach the TFS to run our builds from SVN.

This will be helpful for you especially if you have a similar configuration – source code location in SVN but the development tools are still Visual Studio and MSBuild. The projects are combined into the solution files (.sln), etc… I hope you got the picture.

[Disclaimer: To continue you should be familiar with the TFS build workflow and the basics of the TFS administration]

After quite some search I was unable to find any activities that enable the communication with the SVN (except for a custom MSBuild Svn task) so I’ve decided to build my own…

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in C#, TFS, Tutorials, Workflows | 9 Comments »

 
