IgorShare Thoughts and Ideas

Consulting and Training

VS 2008 SP1 – the worst user experience ever

Posted by Igor Moochnick on 09/03/2008

A couple of days ago I was seduced by Scott Hansleman to install the VS 2008 SP1. That was a nightmare. The install took me a full day to complete. The first pass has stuck on a stage “Installing .NET Framework 3.5 SP1”. It was stuck, but the process indicator was still spinning. So I had to wait a couple of hours waiting before I decided to kill it and to restart it.

The second pass was better, but still – the user experience is horrible. How hard is it to scroll on the screen ALL the commands that are happening in real time instead of a spinning slash “/|\-“?

After the installation was complete, I’ve received the following very descriptive greeting:

image

So, after all the talks about the improvements in user experience, I’m getting the worst one that ever happened to me.

So far I don’t see any problems with the SP1. So, I guess, it’s safe to use.

One Response to “VS 2008 SP1 – the worst user experience ever”

  1. […] VS 2008 SP1 – the worst user experience ever – Igor Moochnick Glad my strategy still works: wait a while when new bits come from Redmond, to see if people think it’s either or […]

Leave a Reply

 
