IgorShare Thoughts and Ideas

Consulting and Training

Archive for April 18th, 2008

How does my Silverlight app finds it’s web services?

Posted by Igor Moochnick on 04/18/2008

In a simple case, your Silverlight app will be connecting to the same Web Site for the web services that hosts the app itself. So the app can take it’s Uri and replace the trailing document name with the WebService address.

Uri docUri = HtmlPage.Document.DocumentUri;
Uri svcUri = new Uri(docUri, "ServiceAdress.svc");

Note that this is a simplified code that explains the idea, so, please, do not hardcode any string constants in your code – it’ll be pretty hard to reconfigure your application later. Use configuration files.

Posted in C#, Silverlight, Tutorials, WCF, Web | Leave a Comment »

70-502 – Congratulations to … me !!!

Posted by Igor Moochnick on 04/18/2008

MCTS It was a looooong wait but it was worth it – just received a word from Microsoft that I’ve passed the 70-502 exam.

As I’ve mentioned in my previous post Reflections on the Microsoft WPF Certification BETA Exam (70-502) – it was not a hard exam but it definitely covered a lot of grounds.

Now I’m heading to a bar for beers – I’ve earned it 😆

Posted in Presentations, Thoughts, Tutorials, WPF | 20 Comments »

 
